Deleting content in the BCMS
Updated 20211028 by @lathrops1
MAIN USER STORY
Users should be able to delete content in the BCMS when they make a submission mistake or under other controlled instances in which deletion will not delete source and related content stored in the PMCBook database and Bookshelf site(s) into perpetuity per Bookshelf agreements. Deleting content in the BCMS should not introduce processing errors or interfere with the ability to troubleshoot processing and other errors via work history details. Deletion of content should only be supported when it makes processing, tracking, and management of content via the BCMS easier and less error prone.
- System Admin | Org Admin | Editors can delete ANY file manually uploaded to the system or submitted by FTP in error if they have a "new upload" status.
- System Admin | Org Admin | Editors can delete ANY new collection, book, or chapter component created in error and has a "new upload" status.
- System Admin | Org Admin | Editors can delete ANY part on a book manager page they created by mistake or no longer need and has no children components that belong to it.
- System Admin | Org Admin | Editors can delete ANY custom group on a collection manager page they created by mistake or no longer need and has no children components that belong to it.
- In Phase 1, content deleted in the BCMS, ONLY deletes the content in the BCMS.
- Whenever a user presses a "delete" action button a warning / confirmation message will occur making sure they wish to delete the content and understand the implications of deletion, that it can't be undone, for instance.
- Files that don't have a status, such as support and review files, cannot be deleted IF a system uploads them to a folder OR AFTER they have been sent to taggers as part of tagging packages.
Phase 2 Priorities:
- Communicate "delete" statuses between BCMS and PMCBook database according to user story principles for synced tracking and management.
- Record any "delete" actions by component, file name, user, date and other details in a BCMS History Log for troubleshooting.
VERSION HISTORY / TECHNICAL CONSIDERATIONS UNDER REVIEW
(Update 27 Oct by @DioneMentis )
For the initial release this outlines the minimum required uses cases for deleting content in order to avoid processing errors.
**Uses cases **
Users should be able to:
- Delete a book component that they created by mistake. Book components are created via the "upload chapters" modal. These have a "new upload" status.
- Delete a part that they created by mistake. Parts are added with the "add part" button and do not have a status.
- Delete a custom group in the collection manager that they created by mistake. Groups are added with the "add group" button and do not have a status.
- Delete a book that was created with incorrect "Content Submission" settings: 'Conversion workflow' and 'Submission type'
- When can uses delete content? -- For all the uses case above, delete should be limited to cases where no content has been sent to NCBI for processing. (I.e. before any of the files have been submitted to the relevant conversion workflow).
- What happens on delete? -- this results in the record being deleted from the BCMS only
- What does the user see? -- after selecting the "delete button -- show a confrimation modal: "Are you sure? This action cannot be undone."
- A part must be empty (does not contain any chapters) before it can be deleted
- A group must be empty (does not contain any books) before it can be deleted